C H O P  C H O P ✂️ ✂️

So I knew I wanted to blog about my restyle today… (Currently as i am writing this, I am sat in the chair having my hair blow dried ready to get extensions put in to then have my hair cut… yes I know that sounds odd but all will be revealed) …but it wasn’t until I was walking into town that I realised why I was nervous about cutting my hair and why I wanted to write about it so much.

Since new year I’ve been reflecting on things (like everyone does). The last 2 years and certainly the last year of my life has certainly been a rollercoaster to say the least- not even being dramatic there!

From break ups to becoming a home owner to a family diagnosis, it certainly puts things into perspective. Even more so the kind of person I am and want to be.

For years I felt like I was being moulded to be someone I wasn’t. Trying to fit in with a particular status quo. This last year I can finally say at the grand age of 27 I now know who I am. And I’m happy to be that person.

I saw a quote a few weeks ago that was said by CoCo Chanel.

 

“A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life.” 

 

 

Yeah she was right. When I was younger I was fearless of change. Numb to it even. I didn’t feel like having a trim meant anything unless it was a complete change. Looking back I guess that was me trying to find out who I was. Was I a long haired brunette or a red head or was I a pixie cut blonde…

Sadly none. Blonde yes. But not that short again haha!

As I became older and as life dealt it’s cards, I then became almost frightened of change. It normally meant something bad, upsetting or just plain cruel. So my hair stayed the same pretty much. I just let it go with minor changes and trims but nothing drastic. As my hair got longer I realised I was using it like a shield and a comfort blanket. I would wear it down when I felt vulnerable and tie it back when I felt I heading for a battle. This went on for about 2 years.

So much pressure for one head of hair, so a couple of weeks ago, I decided enough is enough!

I ditched my easy maintenance root drag and went back to my light blonde self.

Like when I was younger, before my mind became warped by influences. Even doing that gave me back a sense of self.

And today was the cut….

so here is my before from this morning…

As you can see it’s got some length to it. Not much style and my sides are really fine and pretty non existent (been that way for years). So I had extensions put in my sides for thickness and length and a couple through the back to give me some movement.

IMG_4621

They’re Great Lengths extensions so its not glue or clips or anything that will damage my hair. We use a heat seal keratin bond which is what your hair is naturally made up from so nothing foreign to it. When I’ve had my extensions in before I’ve managed to get anything from 4-6months out of them with maintenance and looking after them, half the time i forget they are there!
I then had my back cut off to about my collar and graduated so my hair is longer at the front.

This is my after….

 

So more shaping, thickness and length at the sides and most importantly – a new me.

 

What a difference a day makes!  Here’s to the next adventure!

A xox

 


Hair by Michael John Hair Artwork ltd

Leave a Reply

