Me, My Skin & Elemis

So like most of the population I have bad skin. Well had bad skin.

About 3 weeks ago I had had enough of my skin. Now I’ve never been fresh faced and unfortunately through genetics have an oily but dry in places skin. That and being a hairdresser in a busy salon was not doing my skin any favours.

I have always had issues with my skin for as long as I can remember and never really stuck to a regime of any kind… bad I know. But at 27 years old I have finally found a range of products that not only work at keeping my face clear and blemish free but help illumine my skin and make it look it’s best even without make up!
My problem has always been not really knowing what to use for my skin. I have that awkward combination skin where it is oily but also dry in places then I get ‘blemishes’ which is just a nice way of saying spots!

I have tried nearly everything on the market to help my skin but what I’ve learnt is that you need to have a systematic approach and stick to it!

So after reading this blog on the Elemis website I decided to sort my skin out.

Every morning I start with my main cleanser Dynamic Resurfacing Facial Wash.


This helps take my make up off as well as dead skin cells and any grime that has attached itself to my skin through out the day. Great pump as well. Saves me wasting half of it!

Also TOP TIP: wash your hands with it first! Clean hands for a clean face!

If I have been out and worn a bit more make up I will do a double cleanse with Nourishing Omega-Rich Cleansing Oil.

It helps remove stubborn makeup and gives my skin that extra boost of moisture.

Another TOP TIP: Using a clean and soft towel to dab (not rub) your face dry. These cloths are lovely and you get 2 in this bag which comes in handy for travelling! I got 3 packs so I always have a clean one each day. After all why would you want to use a dirty towel with dead skin cells all over it on your face?! (I know I never thought about it like that either!)


Once a fortnight I will then use Skin Buff to exfoliate.


This is great as I can feel it working and giving my face a good scrub. But you shouldn’t exfoliate too often as it’ll cause your skin to become fragile.

Then I tone using Lavender Balancing Toner.


This helps sooth my skin and makes sure it’s not too oily or not too dry. Also really handy to use as it’s in a spray bottle so 3 spritz over my face and I’m good.

Then I alternate between Hydra-Balance Day Cream and Superfood Facial Oil.


These help keep my skin moisturised and act as a barrier to stop makeup sinking into my pores and clogging them up.

The Superfood facial oil contains 9 different oils ranging from broccoli seed oil to macadamia oil to rosehip seed oil. All rich in anti-oxidants and to help give your skin a healthy glow.

Now I found this odd but the proof is in the pudding… are you ready….

Oil is good for oily skin! Who knew?! 

Certainly I didn’t! Not until now! And trust me… you have to try it! My skin has never felt so soft and I do believe there is a slight glow to my skin now!

Then I’ll apply my make up in the normal way.

Before bed I’ll cleanse (sometimes double cleanse) tone and then I’ll use one of two products depending of what my skin is like. Herbal Lavender Repair Mask and S.O.S Emergency Cream



Now I’m not saying that these products stop you from having a single break out but they have definitely helped me. My skin is pretty clear with the very odd blemish but nothing like what it was 3 weeks ago. Also it feels smoother and brighter (saving me having to buy illuminating creams!) plus my make up goes on easier and stays on better!

The S.O.S cream will help tie the irritation away and reduce a spot over night. I’ve tried and tested it! My go to product for before a night out! You can also use it under make up if you get a little friend pop up in the morning!

And lastly is my coffe substitute! Those late nights and early mornings really take it out on my eyes. Sometimes I look like I haven’t slept in days but Pro-Radiance Illuminating Eye Balm has helped loads!


It has a cooling effect to help rid those dark circles and is slightly tinted so acts similar to concealer. Nice applicator too so don’t have to use your fingers to rub it in.
So I’m all for these products and I will shout from the roof tops about them. It’s a horrible feeling when you have bad skin and it can affect your confidence majorly. I’m so happy I’ve found products that work for me.

 

If you’re based in or around peterborough you can purchase Elemis from my salon.

Michael John Hair Artwork ltd in Peterborough.

 

If you’ve tried Elemis or have any questions leave me a comment! What Elemis product/s have you tried and love?? What’s your secret ‘go to’ product??
Until next time!

Xox

Elemis Website

One thought on “Me, My Skin & Elemis

Leave a Reply

